Dorothy Day’s Pro-Life Memories

“Ill never forget the time that I had to literally stand up against birth control. My sister Della had worked for Margaret Sanger, foundress of Planned Parenthood. When Della exhorted me that I shouldnt encourage my daughter Tamar to have so many children, I stood up firmly and walked out of the house whereupon Della ran after me weeping, saying, Dont leave me, dont leave me. We just wont talk about it again. To me, birth control and abortion are genocide. I say, make room for children, dont do away with them. I learned that prevention of conception when the act that one is performing is for the purpose of fusing the two lives more closely and so enrich them that another life springs forth and the aborting of a life conceived are sins that are great frustrations in the natural and spiritual order. 

The Sexual Revolution is a complete rebellion against authority, natural and supernatural, even against the body and its needs, its natural functions of child bearing. This is not reverence for life, it is a great denial and more resembles Nihilism than the revolution that they think they are furthering.

Once I asked a man why he signed a petition for the Rosenbergs who had been convicted of treason in the fifties. It is because I am against capital punishment, he said. In other words, he, as the rest of us, is in favor of life — life until natural death.”

Full article at link below:

Dorothy Day’s Pro-Life Memories

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

